8th September 1954

The Manila Pact SEATO was formed

On the 8th September of 1954,Australia,France,Great Britain, New Zealand,Pakistan, Thailand, the Philippines and the United States, formed the Southeast Asia Treaty Organisation, or SEATO at a meeting between the countries in Manila. Because it was created at the meeting in Manila it also became known as the Manilla Pact. 

Read More about the Manila Pact